Hi , you are logged in. Logout here.


Honorary Members & Awards

ARANZ recognises exceptional achievement and service to the association and contributions to the profession in three ways, via the periodic bestowing of honorary life memberships, the awarding of an annual prize for an outstanding essay, and an outstanding piece of published writing that utilises archives and records.

Honorary Life Memberships

Since 1976, in recognition of either their 'outstanding service commensurate with the objects of the Association', the following have been elected to Honorary Life Membership of the Association.

Year Awarded Recipient
1978 Tom Wilsted
1980 Brad Patterson
1982 Ian Wards
1988 Stuart Strachan
1989 Jack Churchouse
2001 Kathryn Patterson
2001 Therese Angelo
2006 Dr The Hon Michael Cullen
2008 Peter Miller
2009 John Timmins

Peter Miller accepts the ARANZ Life Membership Award during the Dunedin Conference 2008

John Timmins accepts his ARANZ Life Membership Award during the Wellington Seminar & AGM 2009

Top of the page

The Michael Standish Prize

This award, first offered in 2001, is named in honour of Michael Standish, architect of the 1957 Archives Act and the first permanent Chief Archivist of National Archives.

The prize recognises an outstanding essay, by a New Zealand archivist or records manager, dealing with some facet of archives or records administration, history, theory and/or methodology, and published in a recognised archives, records management, or other appropriate journal.

Year Awarded Recipient Essay Title
2001 Janine Delaney Redefining the Role for Collecting Archives in an Electronic Paradigm
2002 not awarded -
2003 Chris Hurley Recordkeeping, Document Destruction,and the Law (published in Archives & Manuscripts, Nov, 2002).
2004 not awarded -
2005 Adam Stapleton Continuum in Context: Post-Eighteenth Century Archival Theory and the Records Continuum Model(published in Archifacts April 2005)
2006 David Colquhoun "The pioneers are steadily passing to the great beyond" : early collecting and the National Historical Collection (published in Archifacts October 2005.)
2007 not awarded
2008 not awarded
2009 Virginia Gow

“One prison cell per government department”? An overview of the post-modern approach to archival theory. (published in Archifacts, 2008)

2010 not awarded
2011 Kay Sanderson

Personal archives and chaotic conceptions (published in Archifacts, October 2010)

Top of the page

The Ian Wards Prize

The Ian Wards Prize honours the contribution to New Zealand scholarship of Ian McLean Wards, Chief Government Historian between 1968 and 1983, and, through his actions and unceasing advocacy over a period of more than 50 years, one of the principal architects of New Zealand’s modern archives system. The Prize, first offered in 2001, recognises a published work which makes substantial, imaginative and exemplary use of New Zealand archives and records.

Year Awarded Recipient Publication Title
2001 Bary Gustafson His Way: A Biography of Robert Muldoon
2002 Jim McAloon No Idle Rich: the wealthy in Canterbury
& Otago, 1840-1914
2003 Philip Temple A Sort of Conscience
2004 Malcolm McKinnon Treasury: The New Zealand Treasury, 1840-2000
2005 Greg Ryan

The Making of New Zealand Cricket 1832-1914

2006 Melanie Nolan Kin : a collective biography of a working-class New Zealand
2007 not awarded
2008 not awarded
2009 Jock Phillips & T.J. Hearn Settlers: New Zealand immigrants from England, Oreland and Scotland, 1800-1945
2010 Adrian Humphris & Geoff Mew

Ring around the city: Wellington’s new suburbs, 1900-1930

2011 A.R.H. Jones

Doing well and doing good: Ross & Glendining, Scottish enterprise in New Zealand

2012 - Joint Award Robert Peden

Charlotte Macdonald

Making Sheep Country: Mt Peel Station and the Making of the Tussock Lands (AUP).

Strong, Beautiful and Modern: National Fitness in Britain, New Zealand, Australia and Canada (BWB).

2013 Alison Clarke Born to a Changing World: Childbirth in Nineteenth Century New Zealand (BWB).
2014 Peter Holland Home in the Howling Wilderness: Settlers and the Environment in Southern New Zealand (Otago UP).
2015 Tom Brooking

Richard Seddon: King of God's Own: the Life and times of New Zealand's Longest Serving Prime Minister (Penguin).

2016 Donald Kerr Hocken: Prince of Collectors (OtagoUP).
2017 Jessie Munro Voices of belonging : a history of Clevedon-TeWairoa (Steele Roberts Aotearoa)
MoST Content Management V3.0.6374